Google booked the first two phases of America's largest solar-plus-storage build - and the box is part of the deal
Steel River Energy Center in Mississippi County, Arkansas: Google is anchor investor and offtaker for phases one and two - 1.6 GWdc solar and 1.9 GWh of battery storage. Full three-phase build targets 2.5 GWdc and 2.9 GWh by 2029. Contract dollars were not disclosed.
Picture a data hall that needs power at 2 a.m. as much as at noon. Annual renewable certificates do not flip the night meters by themselves. A solar farm with a big battery is the grid version of packing lunch for the night shift.
On 14 July 2026, Cypress Creek Energy and Google announced groundbreaking on Steel River Energy Center in Mississippi County, Arkansas. Cypress Creek's release and Google's own blog say Google is both an anchor investor and an offtaker under a power purchase agreement for the first two phases. Those phases: 1.6 GWdc of new solar and 1.9 GWh of new battery storage. Full three-phase build, targeted online in 2029: 2.5 GWdc solar and 2.9 GWh storage - enough, they say, to power more than 315,000 Arkansas homes a year.
pv magazine reported the deal on 15 July 2026 as a virtual power purchase agreement covering 100% of initial generation, with fixed-price terms not disclosed. We stick to the Cypress Creek and Google primary numbers for megawatts and megawatt-hours; where secondary outlets round storage differently, the primary release wins.
Analogy: it is less like buying a year of gym membership and more like booking the biggest hotel on the block for twenty years of rooms - solar by day, battery for the hours the sun is quiet. Your warehouse bill does not move because Google signed. The lesson is what large US buyers now treat as normal: firmed solar at gigawatt scale, not panels alone.
Good: dated nameplate figures from the developer and the offtaker, with storage in the same announcement as the solar. Domestic supply chain named on the Cypress Creek page (First Solar modules, Arkansas steel piles, LG Energy Solution Vertech batteries assembled in the US). That is useful context for procurement teams watching equipment-origin risk on US projects.
Bad: this is a hyperscaler grid offtake and investment story, not a rooftop voucher for a distribution shed. No published $/MWh, no site payback, and no claim that every Arkansas C&I meter gets cheaper overnight. Google's blog frames the project as strengthening the regional grid that also serves industry and households - not as behind-the-meter kit on your loading dock.
Ugly: full COD is 2029. Phases one and two are under construction, not delivering today. Anyone pitching "Google economics" onto a two-hour warehouse pack has not matched the scale or the contract shape. We will not invent your offtake price from this groundbreaking.
Source: Cypress Creek Energy, 14 Jul 2026 - Steel River groundbreaking; Google blog, 14 Jul 2026; secondary: pv magazine, 15 Jul 2026. MW/MWh from Cypress Creek / Google. Contract price not disclosed. No workplace payback on those pages.